10 in race for Mysore SP's seat

Post vacant after retirement of Ramasubba 10 days ago

Sources told Deccan Herald, not one or two, about 10 names are doing rounds since Ramasubba  retired on October 31. It’s also for the first time, the district police is without a head for 10 days. In the earlier cases, the names of the successors were announced in tandem with the transfers of incumbent.

Labhuram, a direct IPS officer currently posted as SP, Chitradurga has emerged front runner for the post, following the recommendation of Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa.

The other names in the list are- T R Suresh, SP Raichur, Eshwar Chandra Vidyasagar, SP-Koppal, R Dileep, SP-Dharwad, Madhukar Shetty, SP-Lokayukta, Bangalore, K V Sridhar, Commandant, Home Guards, Bangalore, Ravikanthe Gowda, DCP, Bangalore, B Krishna Bhat, DCP, Bangalore, Prakash and B L Gowda (Direct IPS).

A few among the aspirants have already served in Mysore and it goes without saying why they are hankering to make it to Mysore again. T R Suresh had served as DCP (Law and order) and also SP Lokayukta here followed by Eshwar Chandra Vidyasagar as Lokayukta SP, Dileep as Additional SP, Ravikanthe Gowda, DCP, Law and Order. Sridhar had a brief stint as SP, Chamarajangar.

First choice

For newcomers, Mysore is the first choice outside Bangalore considering its sobriquets like ‘Peace loving City’, ‘Tourist City’,’Pensioners Paradise’ and most importantly ‘Education Hub’ to name a few.

It’s not an exaggeration, most of the officers irrespective of departments have left their wards here to continue with their education, even after their transfers to other places.

Though the city was carved out of the district in the 90s to constitute a commissionerate with officer in the rank of IPS holding the reins as Commissioner, with three DCPs at his disposal, the   purview of SP has not lost its significance.

It has 22 police stations with four Dy SPs and seven circle inspectors comprising all the seven taluks.

Though Karnataka State Police Service (KSPS) cadre officers are considered for SP’s post most of the times taking their service into cognisance, the direct IPS cadre officers always stand a chance.

There are instances, when KSPS cadre officers are elevated to IPS cadre, again considering their meritorious services.

In the case of who will be lucky among several aspirants for Mysore, one has to wait for a few more days as the name of the successor is expected to be announced shortly.

Who will be lucky?

* T R Suresh, SP Raichur
* Eshwar Chandra Vidyasagar-SP, Koppal
* R Dileep- SP, Dharwad
* Madhukar Shetty, Lokayukta, SP, Bangalore
* K V Sridhar- Commandant, Home Guards, Bangalore
* Ravikanthe Gowda, DCP, Bangalore
* B Krishna Bhat, DCP, Bangalore
* Labhuram, SP, Chitradurga
* Prakash, posting not known
* B L Gowda, posting not known

Comments (+)