Mysore lawyer chairperson of women's panel

The State government on Saturday appointed Manjula Manasa, an advocate from Mysore, as chairperson of the State Women’s Commission.

Addressing a press conference in Bangalore, Minister of State for Women and Child Development Umas­h­ree also announced that six members have been appointed to the commission. The vacancies in the commission are being filled up after a gap of one year and three months.

The members of the commission are: Sharada (Hassan), Rafath Maneeth (Bidar), Shamala Bhandary (Udupi), Anita Bunjal (Hubli), Pushpa Lakshman Swami and Suman Hegde (both Bangalore).

In a related development, the State government has annulled the appointment of chairpersons and members of Karnataka Lalithakala Academy, Yakshagana Bayalata Academy and Beary Sahitya Academy. The decision was taken following legal issues, sources said.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)