20 modern post offices launched in State

20 modern post offices launched in State

80 post offices will be modernised under Project Arrow in Karnataka: Sachin Pilot

Sachin Pilot, [third from left] Minister of State for Communication and Information Technology unveiling the 20 modernised post office under Project Arrow at R T Nagar, Bangalore on Thursday. dh photo

Dedicating the renovated post offices to the public here, Union Minister of State for Communications and Information Technology, Sachin Pilot said that the 'overhaul' came about under phase 3A of the Project Arrow launched in April 2008.

Aimed at creating a 'conducive and friendly work atmosphere' for the public and the postal employees, the project provides for all IT-enabled  services through secure connectivity.

In Karnataka, 80 post offices are to be modernised under this project. While 30 POs were upgraded under phase 3, 20 were revamped under phase 3A. The remaining POs would be given a face-lift later, Pilot added.

The Union Minister also said that the Department's efforts to revitalise post offices had been received well. He said that all the 1,54,000 post offices in the country would be renovated in a phased manner provided the Department received "adequate funds".  In 2009, a whopping Rs 654 crore articles were handled by the Department, Pilot added.

What is Project  Arrow?

- Launched in April 2008, the pilot scheme envisages modernising 1,550 post offices in the country including 80 in Karnataka. 

- Under it, the selected post offices will have multi-purpose counters along with customer relations manager to deal with complaints from the public. 

- Front office services like marketing, branding, sales, customer relations, etc as well as back office services like keeping record of transactions, updating accounts, etc have been computerised fully. 

- E-enabled services like electronic MOs (delivered within seconds), Instant MOs (up to Rs 50,000), etc have been provided.

- Under Phase 3A, POs in RT Nagar, Bagalkot, Hubli, Gadag, Karwar, Haveri, Raichur, Chikmagalur, Davangere, Hassan, Mandya, Chikkaballapur, Madikere, Shimoga, Tumkur, Manipal, Hospet, Sirsi, Puttur, and Ankola have been overhauled.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox