Ministers get additional portfolios

BJP leadership forced Chief Minister to put off Cabinet expansion plans

Of the 34 berths in the Cabinet, six are vacant. Anticipating dissidence within the party and as per the directions from the party high command, the chief minister put off Cabinet expansion scheduled for October 3.

The vacancies were created following resignation and dismissal of ministers from the Cabinet. As many as 10 ministers have got additional portfolios. Muzrai, which was with Krishna J Palemar, has been transferred to Higher Education minister V S Acharya.

Janardhana Reddy, who holds portfolio of Tourism and Infrastructure Development has got Sports and Youth Services as addition. This portfolio was earlier held by his associate Goolihatti Shekar.

Still awaiting berth

Varthur Prakash, Independent MLA, who supported the BJP when Yeddyurappa moved the confidence vote in the Assembly, is still waiting to get a Cabinet berth. So also is Raju Gowda, BJP MLA. Both have been identified as the supporters of Janardhana Reddy.

BJP national president Nitin Gadkari has told the State leaders that the Cabinet expansion may fuel dissidence in the party as there are too many aspirants.

Following is the list of ministers and additional portfolios: Govind Karjol (Textiles), V S Acharya (Muzrai), Janardhana Reddy (Youth Services), B N Bachche Gowda (Sericulture), Revu Naik Belamagi (Animal Husbandry), Suresh Kumar (Municipalities & Local Bodies), Krishna J Palemar (Fisheries, Science & Technology), Laxman Savadi (Agriculture Marketing), A Narayanaswamy (Prisons) and C H Vijaya Shankar (Small Scale Industries).

Comments (+)