Confident Karnataka take on Haryana

The hosts, who gained promotion from the Plate League last season, shouldn’t pose a big threat to last year’s finalists, who bearded the lion in their den in the previous match in Mohali. Haryana will also be on the back foot, having suffered a humiliating innings and 33-run defeat at the hands of Baroda with a day to spare at the same venue last week.

As had been the fashion the previous season, Karnataka once again thrived on their pace trio of Vinay, S Arvind and A Mithin. The three claimed 19 wickets between them against Punjab as the former multiple champions proved too hot to handle for the hosts.
Karnataka’s batting too looked safe and sound with Robin Uthappa coming to the party in a big way. Manish Pandey, Ganesh Satish and Amit Verma in the first innings and opener KB Pawan and KL Rahul chipped in with useful contributions in the second essay to ensure Karnataka held firm grip throughout the match before converting the advantage into a comprehensive win.

A downpour on Tuesday and the hovering dark clouds, however, have put a big question mark over the scheduled start of the match.

Teams (from): Karnataka: Vinay Kumar (capt), KB Pawan, KL Rahul, Ganesh Satish, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Amith Verma, CM Gautam (wk), Sunil Joshi, R Vinay Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, S Arvind, Aditya B Sagar, Stuart Binny, Udit Patel, Sunil Raju.

Haryana: Rahul Dewan (captain), Hemang Badani, Yuzvendra Chahal, Amaradeep Sonkar, Sanjay Budhwar, Ajit Chandila, Dhruv Singh, Ashish Hooda, Joginder Sharma, Ankit Rawat, Pardeep Sahu, Nitin Saini, Sandeep Singh, Manav Sharma, Sunny Singh.

Other Super League fixtures: Group A: Bengal vs Assam at Kolkata; Delhi vs Gujarat at Delhi; Mumbai vs Railways at Mumbai; Saurashtra vs Tamil Nadu at Rajkot.
Group B: Baroda vs Uttar Pradesh at Vadodara; Himachal Pradesh vs Punjab at Dharamsala.

Comments (+)