Mild scare for Sammy's Windies

Mild scare for Sammy's Windies

Left-armer Herath removed Dwayne Bravo, Sulieman Benn and Carlton Baugh (50) as the West Indies were bowled out for 243 in their first innings just before tea in reply to Sri Lanka’s 387 for nine declared.

Sri Lanka declared in their second innings on 57 for one, with Tharanga Paranavitana scoring an unbeaten 20 and skipper Kumar Sangakkara unconquered on one.
West Indies, set an improbable 202-run target off 21 overs, lost openers Chris Gayle (three) and Adrian Barath (eight) before reaching 12 for two in their second innings when play was called off due to bad light.

Spinner Ajantha Mendis trapped Barath leg-before and part-time spinner Dilshan had Gayle caught by former captain Mahela Jayawardene at first slip. The three-Test series is tied 0-0 after the drawn matches in Galle and Colombo. The final Test starts in Pallekele on Dec 1.

West Indies wicketkeeper Baugh earlier hit six fours in his second Test half-century to help his team avoid the follow-on. The tourists, resuming at 165 for five after rain washed out the morning session, slipped from 205 for five to 209 for eight in the afternoon, with Herath taking two wickets and debutant paceman Suranga Lakmal bagging one.

SRI LANKA (I Innings): 387/9 decl
WEST INDIES ( I Innings, O/n: 165/5):
Gayle c Mathews b Lakmal    30
Barath lbw Kulasekara    3
DM Bravo c Herath b Dilshan    80
Chanderpaul lbw Mendis    8
Nash lbw Dilshan    29
DJ Bravo st P J’dene b Herath    20
Baugh b Herath    50
Sammy c Mathews b Lakmal    2
Benn c Paranavitana b Herath    0
Shillingford (not out)    5
Roach b Mendis    3
Extras (LB-5, NB-8)    13
Total (all out, 71.3 overs)    243
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-51, 3-77, 4-160, 5-161, 6-205, 7-208, 8-209, 9-240.
Bowling: Mendis 16.3-1-56-2, Lakmal 16-1-84-2, Kulasekara 11-5-17-1, Herath 23-3-76-3, Mathews 3-2-1-0, Dilshan 2-0-4-2.
SRI LANKA (II Innings):
Paranavitana (not out)    20
Dilshan c Baugh b DJ Bravo    26
Sangakkara (not out)    1
Extras (B-5, LB-4, w-1)    10
Total (for 1 wkt decl, 15 overs)    57
Fall of wicket: 1-55.
Bowling: Roach 5-0-15-0, Sammy 4-1-16-0, DJ Bravo 4-1-8-1, Benn 2-0-9-0.
Gayle c M Jayawardene b Dilshan    3
Barath lbw Mendis    8
DM Bravo (not out)    0
Chanderpaul (not out)    0
Extras (NB-1)    1
Total (for 2 wkts, 11 overs)    12
Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-11.
Bowling: Lakmal 2-0-7-0, Dilshan 5-2-4-1, Mendis 3-2-1-1, Herath 1-1-0-0.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)