Shailaja Bhat elected DK ZP chief, Dhanalaxmi deputy

Shailaja Bhat elected DK ZP chief, Dhanalaxmi deputy

Priority for drinking water in the district, says the newly elected chief

Newly elected Zilla panchayat President K T Shailaja Bhat (Right) and Vice-President D Dhanalaxmi Janardhana. DH photo

While Congress Member Mamatha D Gatti was in fray for the president’s post, Yashavanthi Alva of the party contested for the post of vice-president. BJP candidates Shailaja and Dhanalaxmi defeated Congress rivals by bagging 24 votes each in the zilla panchayat, which has a strength of 35 members. Meanwhile, Congress candidates bagged 11 votes each.

Regional Commissioner M V Jayanthi, who was the election officer, proceeded with the election xlts, Jayanthi said that the 20 months term of the newly elected president and vice-president will end on October 7, 2012.

‘Priority for water’

Speaking to reporters after assuming the charge of Zilla Panchayat president, Shailaja said that more emphasis will be given to provide drinking water to villages in the district.
“Basic facilities will be provided and roads will be developed in rural areas. Efforts will be made to implement all government schemes in the district effectively,” she promised adding that problems of all sections of the society including members of the backward communities and Dalits will be solved through a transparent administration.  To a query on her candidature, Shailaja said, “I was not an aspirant for the post of Zilla Panchayat president. At the same time, it was the decision taken by the party.” “I am a politician with RSS background and I will continue to serve the society as the president of the Zilla Panchayat,” Shailaja promised.


Shailaja, wife of Campco Manager Tirumaleshwara Bhat, was elected to the Zilla Panchayat from the Vittal constituency. She had completed her graduation from the JSS College in Mysore under the Mysore University.  

She is the secretary of BJP district unit and the president of the BJP Mahila Morcha Puttur unit. She had held the post of Mahila Morcha district president.  

Shailaja, a Rajyotsava award winner, has also served as the member of Idkidu gram panchayat and its president between 2003 and 2005. She was the Member of Bantwal APMC during the period between 2005 and 2010.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox