Panel formed to hear deemed varsities on trial

Panel formed to hear deemed varsities on trial

The committee constituted following a Supreme Court directive will be chaired by MHRD special secretary Ashok Thakur, with additional secretaries Sunil Kumar and N K Sinha as members.

After hearing the shortlisted varsities, the panel will place a consolidated report before the Apex Court on April 25, 2011. This is the second committee constituted by the MHRD, after the Expert Committee chaired by Prof P N Tandon, which shortlisted the 44 institutions.

The institutions will have to submit their response to the finding of the expert committee that they do not warrant a deemed varsity status. Based on the replies, the panel suggests whether an institute should be stripped of the deemed varsity tag or not, on a case by case basis.

Six universities from Karnataka - Sri Devaraj Urs Academy of Higher Education and Research (Kolar), Yenepoya University (Mangalore), BLDE University (Bijapur), Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher Education (Tumkur), Christ College (Bangalore) and Jain University (Bangalore)  are under the scanner.

The MHRD constituted a committee of experts, which recommended 44 institutes be stripped of the deemed varsity tag, while another 44 varsities were given three years to mend their ways.