Bypoll notification today; code of conduct in force

Bypoll notification today; code of conduct in force

According to Deputy Commissioner Manojkumar Meena, the by-poll to the constituency reserved for Scheduled Castes will be notified on March 16. The nominations will have to be submitted before March 23 and scrutiny will be taken up on March 24. Nominations could be withdrawn before March 26.

Polling will be held on April 9 from morning 8 am to 5 pm. Electronic voting machines will be used for the purpose. Counting will be taken up on May 13.

The voter list includes the electorate eligible to cast vote as on January 1. They should present their identity cards at the voting booths. The list of alternative documents to be presented during election, for those who do not have identity cards will be announced shortly. The poll code of conduct is in force in the Assembly Constituency in the district from March 12.  

Nomination on 16

M Narayanaswamy is the official candidate from the BJP. He will submit nomination for the by-polls on March 16. A meeting of the party workers has been convened on Wednesday.

BJP State President Eshwarappa, Home Minister R Ashoka, District in-charge Minister N Narayanaswamy, Zilla panchayat President Manjula, legislator Varthur Prakash, S N Varthur Prakash will be present on the occasion. Narayanaswamy will submit nominations at the tahsildar’s office, later.


S B Munivenkatappa, Mangamma Muniswamy, Srikrishna, former legislator C Venkateshappa are ticket aspirants from the JD(S).

Chances of S B Munivenkatappa to ticket is strong in party and former minister K Srinivas Gowda is also lobbying for Munivenkatappa.


There were strong rumours in the Congress  circle ticket has already been given to S N Narayanaswamy. However, the name of former ZP president Ramachandra was also doing rounds.

It is being said S N Narayanaswamy has an edge over other aspirants in terms of money and men for the polls and is considered to be a right opponent to BJP’s candidate.