MDMK legislator quits membership of House in Pondy

MDMK legislator quits membership of House in Pondy

Official sources said Siva submitted his resignation to the Secretary to the assembly earlier in the day. Siva was elected to the assembly from Tirunallur in the 2006 polls.

"During the past five years, I have nurtured the constituency so well that the people themselves are persuading me to contest again. My supporters felt that I should join AINRC. I am leaving the MDMK with a heavy heart and joining AINRC," Siva had said after holding discussions with his supporters late last night.

Sources close to him said Siva was diappointed over MDMK leader Vaiko's decision to boycott the assembly polls after AIADMK did not concede their demand for 21 seats to contest the Tamil Nadu assembly polls.

He is the fifth member to resign from the House. The others are Rangasamy, P Angalane, T Thiagarajan (nominated) (all former Congress leaders) and N G Pannerselvam (nominated-PMK)

Rangasasmy floated his outfit after resigning from the ruling Congress. Puducherry is going to the polls on April 13 along with Kerala and Tamil Nadu.