Number 13 proves lucky for Mamata

Born in 1998, Trinamool Congress came to power 13 years later. Date of counting was May 13 (1+3+0+5+2+0+1+1 ). Mamata Banerjee’s slogan “Maa-Mati-Manush” has 13 letters.

The word chief minister which Mamata is due to make her own has 13 letters.
Strong leaders have in the past dreaded Friday, the 13th. The fear of the number 13 is known as triskaidekaphobia.

It was BSP leader Mayavati who took a potshot at no 13 and took her oath of office on May 13. In the fierecely contested elections, Mamata’s Trinamool Congress -led alliance  virtually trounced the CPM by winning 227 seats in the 294-member assembly.

Mamata Banerjee, having braved many a storm in the past, achieved the rare honour of democratically dismantling a monolithic party like the CPM from power, a party that had been running the longest serving Communist government in the world, on May 13.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)