PCB chief slams ICC for change in rotational policy

PCB chief slams ICC for change in rotational policy

Reports said the ICC is planning to stop the rotation policy once the term of Pawar's successor Alan Issac (New Zealand) is over in 2015. The ICC is likely to deliberate on the proposal in its annual general meeting on June 28 in Hong Kong.

Butt questioned the rational behind such a move just a few weeks before an ICC Board meeting.

"We are very disappointed. It is just a few days left for the ICC Board meeting and why such a decision now. What is the hurry, I don't know," Butt said.

"I can't say much on this matter now but definitely we will take up the matter and oppose it at the ICC meeting (on June 28 in Hong Kong)," he told 'Times Now'.
Pakistan and Bangladesh would lose out if the current rotational policy is done away with as the two countries are to present their nominees for the post of ICC president and vice-president. Both the two countries are reportedly opposed to the idea of scrapping the system.

Yesterday, Pakistan's former ICC president Ehsan Mani had hinted that the change in rotational policy could be initiated by India so that somebody from India could "jump the queue" to the top post. "I don't know why the ICC wants to change it (the rotational policy). If it is going to be changed I want to ask who are the people behind this," said Mani.

"Sharad Pawar's term is ending next year. The question which can be asked is that if there is anything India want to jump the queue and an Indian getting the ICC president's post," Mani had said.

Nine out of 10 Test playing nations have reportedly signed on the ICC's proposal to change the rotational policy and Mani termed it unusual.

The rotational policy for the appointment of ICC president was at the centre of a major controversy last year when Australia and New Zealand's nominee John Howard, a former Prime Minister, was rejected by the other Boards.

New Zealander Alan Isaac was chosen after a massive furore.

When the post of ICC president was first created in 1996, it was a rotation amongst Full Members, who would each have a turn in appointing the President.

The order commenced with India (Jagmohan Dalmiya), then Australia (Malcolm Gray), Pakistan (Ehsan Mani), South Africa (Percy Sonn).

In 2007, the post of vice-president was created and the system was tweaked to the current Vice President/President.

Though rotation stayed as a policy, nominations now came from pairs of countries: Australia-New Zealand, West Indies-England, India-Sri Lanka, Pakistan-Bangladesh and South Africa-Zimbabwe.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)