Indian eves lose by 25 runs against New Zealand

Invited to bat, New Zealand posted a modest 125 in their stipulated 20 overs, courtesy Elizabeth Perry, who cracked an unbeaten 41-ball 48 to anchor the innings.

Chasing 126 to win, Indian batting came a cropper and were restricted to 100 for seven in 20 overs as they succumbed to their second consecutive loss of the tournament.

Skipper Jhulan Goswami was the pick of the bowlers, claiming two wickets for 18 runs, while S Pradhan, A Sharma and G Sultana took one each.

But India's chase got off to a pathetic start and they kept losing wickets at regular intervals that allowed the Kiwis to run away with the match.

Perry hit four boundaries in her sparling innings, while KJ Martin (29) and N J Browne (22) were the other notable contributors.

But India couldn't produce similar partnership and barring Mithali Raj (24), A Sharma (26), V Krishnamurty (13) and P Raut (11) none could even reach double digit.

Indian eves, who had suffered defeat in their first match against Australia, will now take on England at County Ground in Taunton.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)