Appointments to Kollur temple trust stayed

Appointments to Kollur temple trust stayed

Harikrishna Punaroor, former President, Kannada Sahitya Parishat and others had moved the High Court challenging the order of Deputy Commissioner, Udupi district dated July 27, 2009 appointing nine members to the temple trust.

Without scrutiny

The petitioners had applied for the membership after the DC called for applications on 6, June, 2009. But without scrutinising the application, nine members were appointed to the trust following a letter by Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, dated 24, July 2009.

The petitioners contended that the appointment was illegal, and pointed out that one of the  members, Krishna Prasad Adyantha, was facing a Lokayukta probe for certain irregularities and had a cheque dishonour case pending against him.

Justice Ajit Gunjal stayed the order saying that the appointment is without  application of mind.