Pietersen rested for one-day series

New Zeland-born Ben Stokes of Durham, who made his international debut against Ireland in Dublin on Thursday, has been included in the 14-man squad announced on Friday for the first three one-dayers. Somerset middle-order batsman Jos Buttler and Nottinghamshire’s opener Alex Hales have made the cut for the 13-man squad for the lone T20 international to be played in Manchester on Wednesday (August 31).

“The decision to omit Kevin Pietersen from the one-day squad is in line with our policy of sensibly managing player workloads and will give the opportunity to another batsman to test himself batting at number four,” said National selector Geoff Miller. Pietersen, however, is part of the T20 squad.

“Across both squads, we believe we’ve selected an exciting blend of experienced international performers along with some exciting young players with a great deal of talent. We will need to play a high quality brand of limited-overs cricket against the World Cup winners India,” Miller added.

Twenty20 squad: Stuart Broad (capt), Alex Hales, Craig Kieswetter, Kevin Pietersen, Eoin Morgan, Ben Stokes, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Tim Bresnan, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Samit Patel, Graeme Swann.

One-day squad: Alastair Cook (capt), Craig Kieswetter, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Eoin Morgan, Ben Stokes, Jade Dernbach, Samit Patel, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, S Finn.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)