Vijaya score over Jain

Vijaya score over Jain

Ranjans fifty propels his team to easy win over hosts

Electing to bat, Ranjan and Vijay stitched together a fourth wicket partnership of 145 after they were struggling at 22-3 in four overs. Ranjan smashed 88 off 45 balls studded with eight hits to the fence and six over it while his ally Vijay remained unbeaten on 65 (35b, 6x4, 3x6). Vijay’s lusty hitting in the final overs ensured Vijaya set a daunting target of 202 for CMS.

CMS were anything but steady in their chase limping at 20-3 after four overs with openers Subhash and Shubham back in the pavilion. Varun Gowda taking out the openers while Santosh R scalped Gaurav to put the hosts in a worrying position. With Rudrajeet falling to Gowda cheaply, Abhishek Vishwanath and Sparsh, the new pair in the middle, had to do the hardwork.

The duo struck a 34-run partnership and kept up with the required rate, but Abhishek’s stumping by Vijay off Santosh saw CMS losing half their batting line-up for 69.

Sparsh, who kept the scoreboard ticking with some well-timed boundaries before perishing for 46 off 22 balls.  There were some gamely tries by the late-order batsmen, but the asking rate kept climbing as the pressure got to them, and eventually they were bowled out for 158 with two overs to spare. CMS were also done in by some poor fielding with three dropped chances costing them dear.

The hosts bowlers made it easy for the Vijaya batsmen bowling too short with the likes of Ranjan and Vijay lapping them up happily.

Brief scores: Maharaja College, Kochi: 139/7 in 20 overs (Akhil 52, Vishnu 50; Aslam 5-10, Saddam 2-14) bt Jain College, Belgaum: 95 all out in 19.3 overs (Rohit 3-29).
Presidency College: 222/8 in 20 overs (Suhel 154, Patrick Dass 82, Rajkumar 25; Aiyappa 3-33, Rohan 2-40) bt PESSE: 164/9 in 20 overs (Pronoy 49, Sachin 26; Arun Pandey 3-28, Suhel 2-14, Girish 2-18).

Christ College: 173/7 in 20 overs (Jasmeet 53, Sazeel 41; Srikanth 4-19) bt Kristu College: 154/9 in 20 overs (Philip 78; Joe 2-30).

Vijaya College: 201/4 in 20 overs (Ranjan 88, Vijaya AS 65; Varun Gowda 2-25, Dennis 2-26, Santhosh Gowda 2-29) bt CMS: 158 all ou in 17.4 overs (Sparsh 46; Nikhil Bohra 2-27).