Four new faces in India squad for Bayern Munich game

India football coach Savio Medeira announced a 23-member squad sans injured striker Sunil Chettri and midfielder Steven Dias for Bhaichung Bhutia's farewell match against German giants Bayern Munich here at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium slated for Jan 10.

Churchill Brothers goalkeeper Felix, Sporting Clube de Goa defender Adil Khan and Pailan Arrows striker C.S. Sabeeth are the new faces in the side. Bhutia, who retired from international football in August after leading the national team for the last 10 years, will be donning the captain's arm band for the last time. A part of the proceeds will be donated to the earthquake victims of Sikkim.

Medeira said the squad has a mix of youth and experience. The player have been asked to attend the national camp here from Jan 7. "The side has a mix of youth and experience. It was very important to have a balanced side against a strong team like Bayern Munich. It would be a great opportunity for the players," Medeira told IANS.

Asked why he has included just five under-23 players in the team, Medeira said: "They will get chance when required." Jewel Raja Sheikh (McDowell Mohun Bagan), Nirmal Chhetri (Kingfisher East Bengal), Lalrindika Ralte (Churchill Brothers), C.S. Sabeeth (Pailan Arrows), Jeje Lalpeklua and Gurjinder Singh (both Pune FC) are the five under-23 players in the side.


Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh (Salgaocar SC), Subhasish Roychowdhury (Dempo SC), Felix (Churchill Brothers)

Defenders: Jaspal Singh (Salgaocar), Sameer Naik (Dempo SC), Gouramangi Singh (Churchill Brothers), Govin Singh (United Sikkim Football Club), Nirmal Chhetri (Kingfisher East Bengal), Syed Rahim Nabi (McDowell Mohun Bagan), Adil Khan (Sporting Clube de Goa), Gurjinder Singh (Pune FC)

Midfielders: Reisangmi Vashum (Kingfisher East Bengal), Jewel Raja Sheikh (McDowell Mohun Bagan), Climax Lawrence (Dempo SC), Rakesh Masih (McDowell Mohun Bagan), Baldeep Singh (Pune FC), Clifford Miranda (Dempo SC), Lalrindika Ralte (Churchill Brothers), Rocus Lamare (Salgaocar)

Forwards: Jeje Lalpeklua (Pune FC), Bhaichung Bhutia, Sushil Singh (United Sikkim Football Club), CS Sabeeth (Pailan Arrows)

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)