Maya sacks four more ministers

They have been denied renomination

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati on Friday showed the doors to four more ministers of the UP cabinet and denied them re-nomination in the forthcoming assembly polls. Another minister resigned from the ministry after being refused party ticket for the forthcoming polls.

The sacked ministers are  Forest minister Fateh Bahadur Singh, Minister of State for Technical Education Sadal Prasad, Minority Welfare Minister Aneesh Ahmed Khan and Minister of State for Muslim Waqf Shahjil Ansari. All of them have also been denied re-nomination from their respective assembly constituencies, according to BSP sources here.

Another minister, Daddan Mishra, who held the Ayurvedic Education portfolio, resigned from the cabinet after he was denied ticket from Shravasti assembly seat, which he represented, sources said.

With Friday's sacking, Mayawati has dismissed as many as ten ministers from her cabinet in the past few days. While four of them were sacked following their indictment by the state Lokayukta in cases of corruption and involvement in criminal activities, others were sacked for alleged `anti-party activities'.

The sources said the four ministers who were removed on Friday,  were not taking interest in party programmes and had been indifferent to the problems of the people. Sources however said these ministers were hobnobbing with other parties for a nomination after getting to know that the would be denied tickets.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)