Colourful programmes mark Republic Day celebrations

Colourful programmes mark Republic Day celebrations

Stress on tackling drought situation, implementing new projects

Parades by a large posse of policemen and colourful cultural programmes marked the 63rd Republic Day celebrations in the three districts of Hassan, Mandya and Chamarajanagar on Thursday.

District-in-charge ministers  V Somanna, R Ashoka and M P Renukacharya received the guard of honour and stressed on tackling drought situation in the districts.

In Hassan

Speaking at the Republic Day celebrations in Hassan, housing and district in-charge minister V Somanna announced that additional funds of Rs 36 core would be released to the district to tackle the prevailing drought situation. The funds would be provided to six taluks of the district, apart from Sakleshpur and Alur.

Under the Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme (MGNREGS), Rs 39.28 crore have been released to the district. Zilla panchayat has already initiated several programmes to provide employment to daily-wage labourers under the scheme.

Approval for funds to the tune of Rs 33 crore has been granted to several rural drinking water projects. The state government has released Rs 21.57 crore for the drinking water projects and zilla panchayat has been granted funds of Rs 3.25 crore.

Public works department (PWD) is constructing a building for law courts, PWD office and forest department.

These works would be completed within this year. Ration card distribution has been made online and so far 35,653 persons have submitted applications.

Measures have been taken to release Rs 4.80 crore for the construction of Morarji Desai Residential Schools in Sakleshpur, Alur and Belur.

A housing project estimated at Rs 20 core has been planned in Channarayapatna, he added. 

Deputy commissioner Dr K G Jagadish, superintendent of police Amit Singh, MLA H S Prakash, MLC Patel Shivaram, zilla panchayat president Sathyanarayana, city municipal council president C R Shankar and others were present.

In Mandya

Home and district-in-charge minister R Ashoka said that various projects have been undertaken to resolve the shortage of drinking water in the district.

He was speaking at the Republic Day celebrations organised at the Sir M Visvesvaraya Stadium in Mandya on Thursday. Ashoka said Rs 30 lakh has been distributed to each taluk of the district to tackle the drought situation.

The state government has already released Rs 35 crore of the approved Rs 55.71 crore for providing drinking water to rural areas. Drinking water, underground sewage, road development works at Rs one crore have been taken up in Malavalli. Devalapura, Adichunchanagiri and 129 villages in Nagamangala taluk have been granted Rs 6 crore for supplying drinking water.

K R Nagar has been granted Rs 250 crore, Rs 225 crore for development of Mandagere Left Canal in K R Pet taluk, Rs 75 crore for Hemagiri Canal development, Rs 9 crore for permanent drinking water project in Akkihebbalu.

MLA M Srinivas, MLC Ashwathnarayan, zilla panchayat president Shivanna, CMC president Arunkumar, MUDA president Basavegowda, deputy commissioner Dr P C Jaffer, superintendent of police Koushalendra Kumar and others were present.

In Chamarajanagar

District-in-charge minister M P Renukacharya said that a special grant of Rs one crore has been awarded to four taluk panchayats and zilla panchayat presidents.

He was speaking at the Republic Day celebrations held at Dr B R Ambedkar district stadium in Chamarajanagar on Thursday.

Renukacharya said Rs 4.50 crore has been released to the district to face the drought situation. Projects for development of rural roads at Rs 3.19 crore and Rs 15 crore for drinking water have also been approved. Rejuvenation of 54 lakes have also been taken up. A project estimated at Rs 100 crore for routing water from Kabini Dam is also being planned. Drinking water projects for Chamarajanagar and Gundlupet taluk at Rs 260 crore have also been approved, he added.

MLA C Puttarangashetty, MP R Dhruvanarayan, zilla panchayat president K Rajeshwari, vice-president K Eshwar, CMC president Bhagyamma, national SC commission member M Shivanna, Dr B R Ambedkar Development Corporation president A R Krishnamurthy, Padma Chandra, deputy commissioner K R Sundar, additional deputy commissioner H T Chandrashekar, ZP CEO K Sundar Naik, additional superintendent of police K H Chandrashekar, R Sundar and others were present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)