One Indian in umpires announced for World T20 qualifiers

India's Sudhir Asnani is among the 12 umpires the ICC today announced for the World Twenty20 Qualifiers which will take place from March 13 to 24 in the UAE.

The tournament will have 16 teams from across ICC's five regions competing for two places at the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 which will be staged from September 18 to October 7 in Colombo, Hambantota and Pallekele.

The winner of the UAE event will join Group B which includes Australia and West Indies while the runner-up will join defending champion England and former winner India in Group A.

The match officials for the event include five-time ICC Umpire of the Year Simon Taufel. Taufel will be part of a team of 12 officials from a wide-range of countries who will be officiating in the tournament, the ICC said in a statement.

Ahead of the tournament, Taufel will host the umpires in a two-day workshop at the ICC Global Cricket Academy in Dubai in order to help the officials prepare for the event.

The four match referees for the event come from the ICC's Regional Match Referees and include former Sri Lanka Test cricketer Graeme La Brooy, former West Indies opener Adrian Griffith, David Jukes of England and Dev Govindjee from South Africa. The match appointments will be announced in due course.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0