TTL registers huge win against PES

TTL registers huge win against PES

Yuvarajas, PGSC, NIE, TTL to face-off in semifinal

TTL registers huge win against PES

TTL College helped by a century by wicket-keeper batsman J Yogesh (118, 8x4s, 1x6s) and a five-wicket haul by leg-spinner Md Salauddin (five for 32), registered a 80-run win over PES (Mandya) and sailed into the semi-finals of the Dell-KSCA Inter-collegiate knock-out cricket tournament, conducted by the KSCA Mysore Zonal committee at the Maharaja’s College grounds here on Thursday.

Opting to bat first, TTL College scored a decent total of 268 for six in 50 overs. They were given a good start with openers Rohit V Tiwari (33, 6x4s) and wicket-keeper batsman J Yogesh (118), who added 53-runs for the opening wicket. Later on the innings was stabilized by a 94-run fourth wicket partnership between Yogesh and K Somashekar (37, 3x4s). J Suchith (25) and Muzamil (22) were the other contributors. Rakshith and Chethan took two wickets each for PES (Mandya).

In reply, PES (Mandya) were bowled out for 188 in 43.1 overs. A M Kiran (44, 7x4s) and H S Sharath (40, 4x4s, 1x6s) were the main run-getters for PES (Mandya).

Leg-spinner Mohammed Salauddin impressed for TTL by bowling a teasing line and returned with impressive figures of five for 32. He was well supported by medium-pacer Uttam Raj who took three for 35.

Yogesh was adjudged as the ‘Man of the Match’ for his century.

In another quarter-final at the Gangothri grounds, Yuvaraja’s College scored a three-wicket win over Sri Jayachamarajendra College of Engineering (SJCE).

Batting first, SJCE were bowled out for a 168 in 32.3 overs. N Parikshith top scored with 50 (8x4s, 1x6s). S Suresh (30, 4x4s) and Mohammed Imran Khan (22, 3x4s, 1x6s) were the other scorers. Medium-pacer M Vishu Kumar took three for 39 for Yuvaraja’s College.

In reply, Yuvaraja’s College scored 179 for seven in 45 overs. Middle-order batman Ravi Kiran M Patel remained not out with a well compiled half century (50 n.o, 4x4s). Ravi Kiran and opener P V Manoj (42, 9x4s) added 78-runs for the fourth wicket. Nirmith took two wickets for 15 runs for SJCE.

Score: Quarter-finals

Match 1:  TTL College: 268 for six in 50 0vers (  J Yogesh 118, K Somashekar 37, Rohit V Tiwari 33, J Suchith 25, Muzamil 22, Rakshith two for 15, Chethan two for 19) beat PES (Mandya) 188 in 43.1 overs (A M Kiran 44, H S Sharath 40, Ramprasad 21, Nandakishore 21, Md Salauddin five for 32, Uttam Raj three for 35). Man of the Match: J Yogesh.

Match 2: SJCE 168 in 32.3 overs ( N. Parikshith 50, S. Suresh 30, Md Imran Khan 22, M Vishu Kumar three for 39, S Somaraj two for 21, Ravi Kiran M Patel two for 22) lost to Yuvaraja’s College, Mysore 169 for seven in 45 overs (  Ravi Kiran M Patel 50 n.o, P V Manoj 42, Sanju C N 24, N. Nirmith two for 15), Man of the Match: Ravi Kiran M Patel.

Match 3: PGSC: 353 in 48.1 overs ( N Bharath 87, K N Yogesh 69, H N Chandrashekar 78, T Manjunath 39, Asifulla Khan four for 59, Ponnappa two for 72) beat Vidya Vardhaka College of Engineering, Mysore 162 in 41.2 overs ( Asifulla Khan 30, Ponnappa 28, Sanjay Urs 20, Murali two for 15, Sinchan two for 17, Shantaraju two for 35, K N Yogesh two for 42).

Match 4: SBRR Mahajana FGC 233 in 42 overs ( Vijeth 57, R Gururaj 40, A H Ullas 44, Sandeep three for 33, A M Aniruddha three for 24, Kishan two for 42) lost to National Institute of Engineering  234 for seven in 47.2 overs ( Guruprasad Swamy 62, Krithik U 50, Aniruddha 40, H Varun 26, N J Gowtham two for 36, Shashidhara two for 34).