Rebel camp undecided on its next move

Rebel camp undecided on its next move

The B S Yeddyurappa camp in the BJP remained undecided on its next step of action in case the party central leadership does not meet its demand of reinstalling their leader as chief minister.

While one section in the camp, staunch supporters of Yeddyurappa, want to stay away from the budget session, a few others, especially ministers, have second thoughts. A final decision in this regard will be taken at a meeting on Tuesday morning.

The 48-hour ‘deadline’ set by Yeddyurappa ends on Tuesday evening, hours before the presentation of the budget proposals for 2012-13 in the State legislature.

According to sources, all the 10 ministers in the Yeddyurappa camp - Shobha Karandlaje, Jagadish Shettar, C M Udasi, Basavaraj Bommai, M P Renukacharya, Murugesh Nirani, Revu Naik Belamagi, Raju Gouda, Umesh Katti and V Somanna (MLC) are planning to resign from the State Cabinet. But none of them openly said that they would do so.

The Yeddyurappa camp is trying to woo MLAs in the Municipal Administration Minister Balachandra Jarkiholi group by offering them plum portfolios in the Cabinet. The Jarkiholi group has thrown its weight behind Gowda stating that they will resign from their Assembly membership if there is a change in leadership in the State. The Yeddyurappa camp has already approached three MLAs in this group, including S K Bellubbi, Sarvabhouma Bagali and Raju Kage, sources said.

Former minister G Karunakara Reddy, a one time Yeddyurappa baiter, arrived at the resort and declared his support for Yeddyurappa.

“There are no permanent friends and foes in politics. I am confident that central leaders will take an appropriate decision,” he said.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)