80 entries for National Autocross

80 entries for National Autocross

Nearly 80 vehicles, some of them driven by well-known names, are likely to take part in the first round of the inaugural Indian National Autocross Championship to be held here Sunday.

According to Balakrishna Jayasimha, Chief Executive, Wynnsport, the promoters, the entries include the likes of Lohitt Urs, veterans Rahul Kanthraj and Babban Khan, besides the country’s top woman racing driver, Nawaz Bhatena.

Also in the fray are a bunch of vehicles from local FRK Racing who have a strong presence in the National rally and racing circuit, besides a team from Kochi who have confirmed eight entries.

The actual autocross event has been packaged along with some entertainment items like a rock band show where Delhi’s popular group Parikrama, is scheduled to perform, and adventure sports while the “Bangalore Pandhis”, the local Harley-Davidson bike owners’ club will be parading the iconic two-wheelers.

For the first time in India, the autocross will have two vehicles running concurrently but on different tracks of nearly two kms each, said Balakrishna at a Media interaction here Monday.

The event is open to all cars manufactured in India and will be categorised on the basis of cubic capacity and modifications into six classes - up to 850cc, 850-1100cc, 1100-1400cc, 1400-1600cc, up to 3000cc, Gypsy up to 1400cc (4x4) and up to 1400cc for women.

The next five rounds will be held at Kochi (May 26-27), Coimbatore (July 14-15), Chennai (Sept 15-16), Mumbai (Nov 3-4) and Bangalore (Dec 8-9).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)