National Tulu seminar in Karkala from Sept 19

It will be a curtain raiser for Vishwa Tulu Sammelano-2009

Informing this at a press conference here on Friday, Academy member Bhaskar Rai Kukkuvalli said five scholarly sessions would mark the seminar, in which about 500 delegates are expected to participate.
Home Minister Dr V S Acharya will inaugurate the seminar. Dharmadhikari of Dharmasthala D Veerendra Heggade will preside. KSOU Vice Chancellor B A Vivek Rai, litterateur Erya Lakshminarayana Alva, Karkala MLA Gopal Bhandary, Institute of Minority Languages Assistant Commissioner Dr Shivakumar will be the guests.

The valedictory will be held at 4 pm on September 20. Vivek Rai will deliver the concluding remarks. MP D V Sadananda Gowda will preside. Subbukrishna from Indian Institute of Languages and Abhayakumar from Mangalore University will give talks on ‘The ways to preserve Tulu’ and ‘Tulu in higher education’ respectively.
Two sessions will be held on the first day. Pundikai Ganapaiah Bhat (Ancient Tulunadu), B Jagadish Shetty (Ancient Tulunadu and neighbouring states), Denis Fernandes (Tulunadu and foreign relations) will present papers in the first session. Purushotham Bilimale (Tuluva concept) and Krishnananda Hegde (Base of Tuluvas and migration) will present papers in the second session.

The second day will comprise three sessions. T Ramakrishna Shetty (History of Tulu language), P N Subramanian (Relationship between Tulu and other Dravidian languages) and U P Upadhyaya (Relationship between Tulu and foreign languages) will speak during the third session.

In the fourth session, K Gopalakrishna Bhat (Flora of Tulunadu), Prabhakar Achar (Fauna of Tulunadu) and B M Ravindra (Minerals of Tulunadu) will speak.
K Chinnappa Gowda (Including Tulu in the VIII schedule of Constitution), N Sukumar Gowda (Teaching Tulu in primary schools), Dinesh Holla (Netravathi river diversion) and D Chandrashekhar Chowta (Protection of environment and biodiversity of Tulunadu) will take part in the last session.
Seminar convener M Ramachandra, litterateurs Erya Lakshminarayana Alva, Vaman Nandavara, academy members Padmanabha Kekunnaya, Yogish Anchan, Duggappa Kajekar and Registrar S H Shivarudrappa were present.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0