5th Kannada Vijnana Sammelana from September 15

5th Kannada Vijnana Sammelana from September 15

Science will be presented in Kannada

Addressing a press meet here on Saturday, he said Indians have made valuable contributions to the science field from time immemorial. The sammelan aims at presenting science to Kannadigas in Kannada. The theme of the seminar is ‘Protection and maintenance of Coastal environment.’  The Government has given a grant of Rs 5 lakh for the convention.

Mangalore University Vice-Chancellor Prof K M Kaveriappa said Pejawar Seer Sri Vishweshwara Theertha will bless the occasion. 

Nitte University Vice-Chancellor Vinaya Hegde will inaugurate the convention.
Kannada Development Authority Chairman Mukhyamanthri Chandru, MP Nalin Kumar Kateel will be the chief guests. Tirupathi Sanskrit University former vice-chancellor Prof V R Panchamukhi will deliver key-note address.


Prof Kaveriappa said Dharmasthala Dharmadikari D Veerendra Heggade, NIMHANS Director Dr D Nagaraja and All India Institute of Speech and Hearing Director Dr Vijayalakshmi Basavaraj will be conferred with ‘Vishweshwarayya Vijnana puraskar’ on the occasion.

Book release

Mangalore University Registrar Dr Chinnappa Gowda said ‘Panchamukhi,’ ‘Leelavathi—1,’ ‘souvenir of fifth Kannada vijnana sammelan, ‘Madhwacharyara jeevana vijnana,’ ‘Vijnana padakosha—1’ ‘Vijnana Kannada,’ and a book on 6th Kannada Vijnana sammelan will be released on the occasion.

The valedictory of the convention will be held on September 17 which will be attended by Western Ghat Task Force Chairman Anantha Hegade Ashisara and Dakshina Kannada district Kannada Sahithya Parishat President Pradeep Kumar Kalkura.


Swadeshi Vijnana Andolana state president Dr G N Bhat said as part of the convention, Swadeshi Vijnana Andolana in association with Canara College had organised essay and elocution competitions on the topic ‘Protection and maintenance of Coastal environment.’  The winners of elocution competitions are: Pavitra Shetty of Government Women’s First Grade College, Udupi (I), Rohil Rodrigues of St Agnes College (II) and Gayathri of Poornaprajna College (III). In essay writing competition, Preetha S of St Agnes College (I), Chaitra M of Poornaprajna College (II) and Pavitra Sjetty of Government Women’s First Grade College, Udupi (III).

Fifth Kannada vijnana sammelan convener Prof K Chandrashekar was present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily