Ownership rights for 45 resettlement colonies

The city government has finalised the modus operandi to grant freehold ownership rights to the allottees of 45 jhuggi jhopri resettlement colonies. 

The decision was taken in a Cabinet meeting chaired by chief minister Sheila Dikshit on Monday. 

It has come as a good news for the occupants of these colonies developed from 1950s onwards to accommodate families who were dislocated due to demolition of slum clusters. Dikshit said the Cabinet has taken a historical decision. The families were allotted plots varying from 25 to 80 sq yards on licence basis. She added that the government decided to grant them freehold ownership rights considering that they were living in these colonies for more than five decades. 

She said around seven lakh families or nearly 30 lakh people will benefit in these 45 resettlement colonies.

These colonies are situated in different parts of the city including Sriniwaspuri, Wazirpur, Satya Niketan, Janakpuri Pankha Road and Madangir. It has been decided that only five per cent of the circle rate will be charged from the original allottees or their legal heirs. And 30 per cent of the circle rate will be charged from those who have purchased plots from original owners and have been residing there prior to March 31, 2007.

All occupants other than tenants residing prior to December 31, 2011 are to be charged 100 per cent of the circle rate. A detailed notification will be issued by department of urban development soon. 

11 new revenue districts

The Cabinet on Monday also decided in principle to create 11 revenue and sessions’ districts, reports DHNS. The present set-up of nine districts along with 27 sub-divisions, came into existence on January 1, 1997.

The law department under the city government took up the matter with the Centre for decentralising the magisterial powers, following which, the state government was given the permission to take appropriate action. 

A committee comprising additional secretary (law and justice) and others in its report recommended that the city government may work for the creation of 11 revenue and sessions’ districts.

“Keeping in view the recommendations of the committee and uneven population in the nine districts, it became imminent to amend the boundaries of nine districts,” said the chief minister. “We will also develop them into 11 revenue and sessions’ districts,” she said.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0