India face South Africa in ICC Champions Trophy opener

India face South Africa in ICC Champions Trophy opener

India will face South Africa in the opening match of the ICC Champions Trophy in Cardiff, June 6.

India and South Africa are in Group B along with Pakistan and the West Indies while defending champions Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka are in Group A.

Hosts England are set to begin their campaign June 8 at Edgbaston against Australia.
India face Pakistan June 15 while Australia are set to take on New Zealand June 12.
Cardiff, Edgbaston and The Oval will each host four group matches in the competition, which will see the eight teams divided into two pools of four.

The top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals, to be hosted at The Oval and Cardiff, with the winners then progressing to the ICC Champions Trophy Final at Edgbaston on Sunday, June 23.

Tournament director Steve Elworthy commented: “This will be an incredible opportunity for fans to see the world’s very best One-Day International sides in action over the space of less than three weeks and the fixture schedule has thrown up a host of exciting head-to-head contests."

“The format means every match counts and all eight teams will feel that they are capable of winning the tournament in a competition which is set to be one of the highlights of the 2013 summer.”

Tickets for the tournament are expected to go on sale from early November and further details of how to purchase these will be released via the ICC website -

Fixture list in full:

Group A: Australia, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka
Group B: India, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies

Group stage
Jun 06: India v South Africa (Day) - Cardiff
Jun 07: West Indies v Pakistan (Day) - The Oval
Jun 08: England v Australia (Day) - Edgbaston
Jun 09: Sri Lanka v New Zealand (Day) - Cardiff
Jun 10: Pakistan v South Africa (Day) - Edgbaston
Jun 11: India v West Indies (Day) - The Oval
Jun 12: Australia v New Zealand (Day/Night) - Edgbaston
Jun 13: England v Sri Lanka (Day/Night) - The Oval
Jun 14: West Indies v South Africa (Day) - Cardiff
Jun 15: India v Pakistan (Day) - Edgbaston
Jun 16: England v New Zealand (Day) - Cardiff
Jun 17: Sri Lanka v Australia (Day/Night) - The Oval

Jun 19: Semi-final A1 v B2 (Day) - The Oval
Jun 20: Semi-final A2 v B1 (Day) - Cardiff
Jun 23: Final (Day) - Edgbaston

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)