Karnataka clinch Buchi Babu Trophy

Karnataka regained the Buchi Babu Memorial cricket trophy after beating Kerala by three wickets in a low-scoring final here on Monday.

Resuming the day at 100 for four in pursuit of Kerala’s total of 137, Karnataka added 41 runs for the loss of three wickets in 11.3 overs to defend the title. For Karnataka, CM Gautham contributed a useful 27 after both the overnight batsmen, Ganesh Satish and Amit Verma, made early exits.

Karnataka received Rs one lakh for their efforts, while Kerala were richer by Rs 50,000.
Brief scores: Kerala: 137 all out in 61.2 overs (Robert Fernandez 43; KP Appanna 4-35, A Mithun 3-36) lt to Karnataka: 141/7 in 33.3 overs (KB Pawan 32, Robin Uthappa 32; KR Sreejith 4-57).

Sunil to lead

Sunil N Raju will lead Karnataka in the all-India Moin-ud-Dowlah Gold Cup cricket tournament to be held in Hyderabad from Sept 6-16.

The squad: Sunil N Raju (capt), KL Rahul, Samarth R, Karun Nair, Kunal Kapoor (vice-capt), Avinash KC (wk), Aditya Sagar, Akshay SL, Arjun Shetty, Kaunain Abbas, Moinuddin SK, Parappa M, Pavan Desphnade, Ronit More, Siddarth KV. Batting coach: J Arun. Bowling coach: Mansur Ali. Manager: Sanjay M Desai. Physio: Shravan. Trainer: Vivek R. Video analyst: Santosh.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)