Stalin puts 'iron curtain' over Annamalai dreams Mangalore: Bangalore all-rounde

South Zone Inter-University Cricket Tournament

Bangalore all-rounder Stalin Hoover almost single handedly derailed the campaign of Annamalai University in the South Zone Inter-University Cricket Tournament on Thursday.

The bowling spearhead scalped three wickets of the Tamilnadu team, restricting Annamalai’s score to 76 in 33.3 overs, and scored an unbeaten 51 with his right hand when it came to batting, taking the Bangalore University to the quarter final of the competition.

At Manipal University Endpoint Ground 2, opting to bat first, Annamalai couldn’t retain the form that they had displayed in the previous matches. Right hand medium pacers Chetan K V (3/27) and Raj Kumar (2/19) too joined the party with Stalin, ripping the Annamalai batting.

In reply, Bangalore lost three wickets before reaching the target of 77 runs, thanks once again to the brilliant batting from Stalin, who came as one down to bat.

He scored a brilliant 51 not out from 60 balls, decorated with two sixes and six fours. Bangalore will take on the defending champions Jain University on Friday to ensure a berth in semi-finals.

In another match at Manipal University Endpoint Ground 1, the Mangalore University lost against the Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU), Hyderabad, for six wickets.

Batting first, Mangalore were all out for 111 in 43.3 overs. Chaitanya K and Ravi Teja took three wickets each for the Hyderabad side. In reply, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University crossed the target in 28.5 overs. Rohan Yadav scored an unbeaten 35 for the visitors.

At the Manipal Institute of Technology ground, Andhra University, Vishakapatnam, semi-finalist of last year, scored an easy 80-run victory over Sri Venkateshwar University, Tirupati.

Batting first Andhra scored 230 for all out in 48 overs and then bowled out ri Venkateshwar Universityfor 150 in 41.2 overs. Maheshwar Reddy was awarded man of the match for his two for 32 and a good knock of 55.
Andhra will take the winner of the match between Bangalore University and Jain University.

Brief scores:
At MIT: Andhra University, Vishakapatnam, beat Sri Venkateshwar University, Tirupathi, by 80 runs. Andhra University, Vishakapatnam, 230 all out in 48 overs (Venkat Murali 34, Satish 33, Barini 34, Durga Prasad 46; Vikram 4 for 29, Maheshwar Reddy 2 for 32).
Sri Venkateshwar University, Tirupati, 150 all out in 41.2 overs (Maheshwar Reddy 55, M Rahamatulla 27, Vikram 21; Suresh 3 for 13, Dharmendra 3 for 33, Satyanarayanan 2 for 37).

At Manipal University Ground 1: JNTU, Hyderabad, beat Mangalore University by six wickets. Mangalore University 111 all out in 43.3 overs (Ashreen 28; Ravi Teja 3 for 26, Chaitanya K 3 for 15, Narender 2 for 27, Anurag 2 for 21).
JNTU, Hyderabad, 114 for 4 in 28.5 overs (Rohan Yadav 35 n.o, Srikant 29).

At Manipal University Ground 2: Bangalore University beat Annamalai University, Tamil Nadu by seven wickets. Annamalai University, Tamil Nadu 76 all out in 33.3 overs (Sabir C 22, Manibharathy 17; Stalin Hoover 3 for 11, Chetan KV 3 for 27, Raj Kumar 2 for 19).
Bangalore University 78 for 3 in 24.3 overs (Stalin Hoover 51 not out. (60b, 6 fours, 2 sixes); Siva Kumar 3 for 21).

Comments (+)