MLA directs medical check-up for students

MLA directs medical check-up for students

Speaking at a meeting of taluk-level officers here on Monday, he said that the authorities at APMC market should not exploit farmers and must collect only the stipulated fee from them.

Taluk Medical Officer brought to the notice of the meeting that the general hospital in the town gets medicines worth Rs 8 lakh every year and all the medicines have exhausted this year due to outbreak of epidemics. He sought supply of medicines to meet the treatment needs.  The MLA directed the Bangalore Electricity Supply Company (Bescom) authorities to maintain all the transformers in the taluk in good condition.


An argument ensued between the representatives of the Education Department and Social Welfare Department over the responsibility of Kasturba School, with both claiming that they are not concerned with the institution. The legislator, with no other go, obtained information from the Deputy Director of Public Instructions over phone.

Expressing his displeasure over students falling in ill in school due by consuming contaminated food, the MLA directed the authorities to see that such instances do not recur in future. He also warned of stringent action in case of any such instances henceforth.

Observing that Nugalabande and Busalakunti areas in the town were facing acute water scarcity, the MLA instructed the officers of Town Municipal Council to supply water through tankers.

Tahsildar Jayamadhava, Taluk Panchayat executive officer Sanjappa, Assistant Director of Animal Husbandry Department Dr Jayaram and other  taluk-level officers were present in the meeting.

Padayatra held

Taluk administration had organised a fund collection drive in aid of the flood victims in North Karnataka in Mulbagal town on Tuesday. Legislator Amaresh led the   padayatra, which started from taluk office waded through all the streets of the town. Public at large and businessmen were seen contributing their might for the welfare of their fellow countrymen. Tahsildar Jayamadhava, former TMC presidents R Chikkareddappa, Muniraju and others took part.