Sanath to head SL panel

Sanath to head SL panel

 Sri Lanka has revamped its cricket selection panel with a new team under its new chairman, Sanath Jayasuriya, the country’s Sports Ministry announced here on Monday.

Jayasuriya, a former national captain and a current government parliamentarian, will have Hemantha Wickramaratne, Pramodaya Wickremasinghe, Chaminda Mendis and Eric Upashantha as co-members of the panel.    

Wickramaratne, a former ODI player, is the only surviving member from the outgoing panel headed by former Test fast bowler Asantha de Mel.

Wickramasinghe was a member of the 1996 World Cup champion side alongside Jayasuriya.
Mendis, who had figured in previous selection panels, was also an ODI player.   

Upashantha, who has also appeared in ODIs, makes his selection panel debut.