DC to issue notifications to 7 ULBs today

Last date to submit nominations is Feb 23, scrutiny on Feb 25

 The notification to the elections to the urban lobal bodies in Dakshina Kannada will be issued by the Deputy Commissioner N Prakash, on February 16.

Speaking to presspersons here on Friday, the DC said that in Dakshina Kannada, elections will be held for Mangalore City Corporation, Moodbidri TMC, Ullal TMC, Bantwal TMC, Puttur TMC, Belthangady town panchayat and Sullia town panchayat.

The last date for submitting the nominations is February 23 and the nominations will be scrutinised on February 25. Electronic voting machines will be used in the election.
Stating that there are 60 wards in the MCC limits, he said that the total number of polling booths would be 379. There are 3,12,579 voters. This include—1,53,226 men and 1,59,353 women.

The total number of wards in Moodbidri TMC is 23 and the total polling booths are 23. There are 19,458 voters with 9,624 men and 9,834 women.

There are 27 wards in Ullal TMC. The total number of voters is 34,513 with 16,820 men and 17,693 women. There are 35 polling booths.

There are 23 wards and 31 polling booths in Bantwal TMC. The total number of voters is 36,830 with 18,281 men and 18,584 women. The total number of voters in Puttur TMC limits is 33,727. There are 27 wards and 42 polling booths in the limits.

Belthangady town panchayat has 11 wards and the total number of voters is 5,140. This includes 2,522 men and 2,618 women. The total number of voters in Sullia town panchayat is 11,269. This includes 5,699 men and 5,570 women. There are 18 wards in the limits.

Place for filing nominations

The applicants from Ward 1 to 10 in the Mangalore City Corporation can file their nominations at MCC sub office at Surathkal; Ward No 21 to 25 and ward no 31 to 35 at MCC sub office in Kadri and ward no 11 to 20, ward no 26 to 30 and ward no 36 to 60 at MCC office, Lalbagh.

The nominations should be filed between 11 am and 3 pm. The nominations for the TMC and town panchayats can be filed at the respective TMC and TP offices.
The DC said that in the backdrop of elections, the election code of conduct will be in force from Friday to March 11.

The election expenditure of a candidate in the MCC limits is Rs 3 lakh, the TMC limits is Rs 1.50 lakh and town panchayat is Rs one lakh. To a query, MCC Commissioner Dr Harish Kumar said that with the declaration of election, all the facilities extended to the corporators have been withdrawn.

Additional DC Dayanand was present.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0