Dorjee Khandu elected Congress Legislature Party leader in Arunachal

Khandu was the unanimous choice at the CLP meeting held in Itanagar. "All the 42 newly elected Congress legislators were present," a senior Congress leader said.
The CLP meeting was also attended by All India Congress Committee (AICC) observers Luizinho Faleiro and V. Narayansamy.

"The CLP decision electing Dorjee Khandu as their leader will be conveyed to party president Sonia Gandhi, and once a formal nod is given, he will take oath as the next chief minister," the leader said.

The Congress party recorded a handsome victory winning 42 seats in the 60-member legislature, eight more than it won in the 2004 assembly elections.
The Trinamool Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) with five seats each have emerged as the primary opposition, followed by the People's Party of Arunachal, a regional party, with four seats and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with three seats, and an independent legislator.

In the 2004 assembly elections, the Congress had won 34 seats, Independents 13, the BJP nine, and the NCP and the regional Arunachal Congress two each.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0