Siddarth, Anisha crowned champions

Siddarth, Anisha crowned champions

Winners of the State-level badminton tournament in Bangalore on Monday. (From left): Sahil Sipani (U-13 boys), Anisha D Karaumbaiah (U-16 girls), Amogh R Gupta (U-10 boys), Siddarth S (U-16 boys), Ashwini Bhat (U-10 girls), Mahima Agarwal (U-13 girls). DH photo

Both recorded fairly straightforward victories in their respective title clashes. While Siddarth stepped up a gear in the second game on his way to a 21-14, 21-9 conquest of Nishanth M, Anisha quelled a late fightback from Sindhu Bharadwaj to win 21-12, 21-18.

Mahima Agarwal turned in a powerful performance to deny K Ashwini Bhat a grand double. Ashwini, the under-10 champion, had fought her way to the final in the under-13 category with a hard-fought 23-21, 8-21, 21-19 semifinal win over Chinmayi Venkatesh but Mahima was too powerful as she won the largely one-sided final 21-16, 21-10.

Sahil Sipani won the corresponding boys’ crown, overcoming a mid-match recovery from BR Sankeerth on his way to a 21-11, 17-21, 21-12 verdict.

Results (all finals): Boys: U-10: Amogh R Gupta bt BS Shantanu 21-9, 21-12. (Semifinals): Shantanu bt Ayush 22-20, 21-12; Amogh bt Vishnu R Paura 21-17, 19-21, 21-14.

U-13: Sahil Sipani bt BR Sankeerth 21-11, 17-21, 21-12. (Semifinals): Sahil bt Daniel S Farid 21-15, 17-21, 21-14; Sankeerth bt Sudeep Suresh 21-14, 21-19. U-16: S Siddarth bt Nishanth M 21-14, 21-9. (Semifinals): Siddarth bt Kaustubh Narayan 22-20, 21-15; Nishanth bt Akhilesh Moktali 21-16, 21-18.

Doubles: Kaustubh Narayan/Harshith Agarwal bt Nishanth M/Manish 21-11, 21-12. (Semifinals): Kaustubh/Harshith bt Venkatesh Pani/Niranjan R 21-11, 21-13; Nishanth/Manish bt Akhilesh Moktali/Bharath S 21-15, 22-20.
Girls: U-13: Mahima Agarwal bt Ashwini Bhat 21-16, 21-10.
(Semifinals): Mahima w/o A Nayak; Ashwini bt Chinmayi Venkatesh 23-21, 8-21, 21-19.
U-16: Anisha D Karaumbaiah bt Sindhu Bharadwaj 21-12, 21-18.