Srinivasan re-elected; Jaitley, Shah stay out

Last Updated 28 September 2013, 13:46 IST

Narayanaswamy Srinivasan will be elected unopposed as president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for a third year at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) here Sunday alongwith all other office bearers.

Srinivasan, however, will know Monday whether he can take charge or not only after the Supreme Court decides Monday on the petition filed by the secretary of the Cricket Association of Bihar.

The CAB, which is not recognised by the BCCI, had moved the Supreme Court Monday seeking to restrain Srinivasan from getting re-elected on the ground that his son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan, who was the team principal of the popular Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Chennai Super Kings -- owned by Srinivasan’s India Cements -- has been chargesheeted for betting in the sixth edition of the Twenty20 tournament.

CAB secretary Aditya Verma, in his application, also sought to restrain the BCCI from nominating Srinivasan in any of its committees as a member or allow him to participate in any of the proceedings of the board in any capacity.

"Sorry. Please, I cannot comment on anything now. Please try to understand my situation," said Srinivasan when IANS reached him soon after his unanimous election.

When the nominations for various offices were released this evening, surprisingly the names of two of its senior vice-presidents, Arun Jaitley from North and Niranjan Shah from West were missing.

Both Jaitley and Shah apparently did not want to be part of a set-up mired in controversies.

Jaitley paved the way for his Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) secretary Sneh Bansal to move in while Mumbai president Ravi Sawant takes over from Shah. The other new vice-president is Rajiv Shukla, president of the Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association, who replaces Vidarbha’s Sudhir Dabir.

Cricket Association of Bengal joint secretary Chitrak Mitra and former India off-spinner Shivlal Yadav from Hyderabad will continue as vice-presidents for one more year.

Baroda’s Sanjay Patel, who was nominated after Sanjay Jagdale quit in protest against the constitution of the inquiry panel to probe the alleged betting and spot-fixing by Meiyappan.

Haryana secretary Anirudh Chaudhary comes in as the new treasurer, replacing Sawant, who was nominated along with Patel when Ajay Shirke went out with Jagdale.

Himachal’s Anurag Thakur will continue as joint secretary. BCCI Sources told IANS that if the case in the Supreme Court lingers on, former president Jagmohan Dalmiya may continue as the officiating chief.

Dalmiya took over after Srinivasan stepped aside after the IPL spot-fixing and the betting scandal broke out.

The new office-bearers:

Vice presidents:

Out: Arun Jaitley (Delhi) Niranjan Shah (Saurashtra) Sudhir Dabir (Vidarbha)

In: Sneh Bansal (DDCA), Rajiv Shukla (UP)  and Ravi Savant (Mumbai)

Retained: Chitrak Mitra (Bengal), Shivlal Yadav (Hyderabad)
Honorary Secretary: Sanjay Patel (Baroda)

Treasurer: Anirudh Chaudhary (Haryana Cricket Association)

Joint Secretary: Anurag Thakur (Himachal)

(Published 28 September 2013, 13:44 IST)

Follow us on