Jagadish Shettar may get Mines, Geology too

Jagadish Shettar may get Mines, Geology too

His return to active politics is dubbed by political observers as a strategy of the Bellary ministers to pave way for a second power centre in the Government. Governor H R Bhardwaj will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Shettar at 11:30 am at Raj Bhavan on Tuesday. Shettar will submit his resignation letter to Deputy Speaker K G Bopaiah.

Sources said, the rebel camp’s demand that more ministers be inducted along with Shettar has been put on the backburner, at least for the time being. Shettar’s induction into the Cabinet with a plum portfolio, besides a position in the yet-to-be constituted core-committee, figured in the compromise formula framed to resolve the political crisis.


While the main portfolio for Shettar is yet to be finalised, there was speculation that there would be a minor reshuffle in the Cabinet with Shettar also getting additional charge of Mines and Geology which is presently with the CM. The move is seen as a strategy by the CM to pass on any crucial decisions to be taken in the Ministry on to Shettar. The Reddy brothers who are into mining business, are in a soup over their alleged illegal mining activities.

Meanwhile, the CM held a meeting with some of his close aides and RSS leaders on the Sunday.

Meanwhile, the new Speaker is likely to be appointed only on the eve of the winter-session of legislature scheduled to commence from December 14.

The names of ministers Suresh Kumar, C M Udasi and Visvesvara Hedge Kageri have been shortlisted for the post.

Divided again over core issue

The CM’s camp and the rebels are once again at loggerheads, this time on who should head the core-committee.

The Bellary ministers are keen that senior BJP leader Sushma Swaraj should head the committee, while Yeddyurappa is firm  on party State unit president D V Sadananda Gowda’s leadership. Sources said central leaders including Swaraj and Arun Jaitley, will sort out the differences at the BJPLP on November 18 in Bangalore. The constitution of the core-committee would be announced after the BPJLP meeting.

Quit as Speaker to become minister

Jagadish Shettar becomes of one of the few Speakers in the State to resign from the post and accept a ministerial berth while continuing in the same Assembly. In 1993, S M Krishna resigned as Speaker and became Deputy CM with Energy and Irrigation

portfolios. In 1980, P Venkataramana resigned as Speaker and joined the ministry of the Gundu Rao government as Social Welfare minister.