North, South share Duleep Trophy spoils

With unrelenting bad weather playing spoilsport, North Zone and South Zone were declared joint winners of the Duleep Trophy this year after the fifth day’s play of the final match was also called off without a ball being bowled here on Monday.

Only 10 overs -- on the second day on Friday -- were possible in the five-day match as wet ground conditions at the Nehru Stadium due to persistent rain played spoilsport.

The city again experienced a morning shower and the umpires decided for a delayed start on the final day. The umpires inspected the ground at around 2:45pm and decided to call off the match.

It was the fourth instance in the history of the Duleep Trophy when the title has been shared. Previous instances were West Zone/South Zone in 1963-64, North Zone/West Zone in 1988-89 and Central Zone/West Zone in 1997-98.

KCA apologises

Bowing to pressure from Youth Congress activists for its statements against Union Minister Shashi Tharoor over the Duleep Trophy final match, the Kerala Cricket Association tendered an apology to him for “hurting his sentiments”.

The move came after Youth Congress workers barged into its office on Monday and forced them to give a written apology for their statement against Tharoor, who had criticised KCA after rain marred the Duleep semis and finals.  The activists also broke a clock in the premises, KCA sources said.

Comments (+)