Bangladesh set India target of 280

Bangladesh set India target of 280

Powered by captain Mushfiqur Rahim's century, Bangladesh set India a target of 280 runs in the second One-Day International (ODI) of the Asia Cup at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium here Wednesday.

Put in to bat by India skipper Virat Kohli, Bangladesh were steered to a challenging total of 279/7 in their 50 overs after Mushfiqur played a captain's knock of 117 runs off 113 deliveries which comprised seven fours and two sixes.

The hosts got off to a slow start with opener Shamsur Rahman (7) perishing early in the sixth over. Mominul Haque (23) tried to build a partnership with opener and wicketkeeper-batsman Anamul Haque (77) before being smartly stumped by India keeper Dinesh Karthik (49/2).

However, Anamul joined hands with the 25-year-old Mushfiqur to take his side out of trouble, building a 133-run third-wicket partnership. Anamul scored his first half-century of career,  comprising five boundaries and three huge sixes.

After Anamul was bowled by Jharkhand pacer Varun Aaron, Mushfiqur continued his onslaught on the Indian bowling. He particularly hammered Aaron, who reverted by bowling a full toss which hit the Bangladeshi captain on his chest.

Aaron was immediately taken off the attack by the umpires as this was his second above-the-waist delivery. Aaron went to Mushfiqur and apologised.

The pacer ended up conceding 74 runs from 7.5 overs, the second-highest by a bowler against Bangladesh after United Arab Emirate's Khurram Khan conceded 78 earlier.

Mushfiqur went on to complete his second ODI century and held the Bangladeshi innings together. India clinched the wickets of Naeem Islam (14) and Nasir Hossain (1) in quick succession before Ziaur Rahman (18) also fell after clearing the boundary line thrice.Mushfiqur finally got caught in the last over, trying to accelerate. But he had done the job for his country, anchoring Bangladesh to a competitive total.

Pacer Mohammed Shami was pick of the Indian bowlers, taking four wickets from his quota of 10 overs and being economical at the start of the innings. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and off spinner Ravichandran Ashwin also clinched a wicket apiece apart from Aaron.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0