South Africa storm into U-19 final

South Africa marched into the final of the ICC Under-19 World Cup with a convincing 80-run win over Australia at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium here on Wednesday.

South Africa will take on Pakistan, who beat England by three wickets in the first semifinal on Monday, in the final on Saturday.

Eighteen-year old pacer Kagiso Rabada starred for the South Africans picking up six wickets for just 25 runs. For Australia, Jake Doran (36) and captain Alex Gregory (31) were the only real contributors as they were toppled over for just 150 runs in 42.2 overs.
Earlier, a 105-run opening stand between captain Aiden Markram (45) and Clyde Fortuin (74) put South Africa on the path to a score of 250 and above, but Australia’s spinners did well to pull them back and restrict them to a par score of 230 for nine.

Brief scores: South Africa: 230/9 in 50 overs (Aiden Markram 45, Clyde Fortuin 74, Yaseen Valli 31; Billy Stanlake 2-36, Matthew Short 2-14, Ben Ashkenazi 2-37) bt Australia: 150 all out in 42.2 overs (Jake Doran 36, Alex Gregory 31; Kagiso Rabada 6-25, Corbin Bosch 2-25).

Canada: 169 all out in 44.1 overs (Yug Rao 77, Stephan Joseph 58; Nosaina Pokana 4-27, Sakavai Gebai 3-25, Riley Hekure 2-45) bt PNG: 158 all out in 48.2 overs (Kiplin Doriga 33, Dogodo Bau 39, Anthony Vare 29; Nikhil Dutta 3-27, Farhan Malik 3-20).
Scotland: 178 all out in 43.4 overs (Michael English 34, Zander Muir 26, Alex Baum 36; Marius Delport 2-38, Kobus Brand 2-24, Bredell Wessels 2-34, Jano Coetzee 2-38) bt Namibia: 173 all out in 45.1 overs (Joshuan Julius 32, Bredell Wessels 29; Abdul Sabri 3-38, Ryan Brown 2-18, Nick Farrar 3-33).     

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0