One withdraws nomination in DK, none in Udupi

One withdraws nomination in DK, none in Udupi

2 EVMs may have to be used in every booth in DK, if none withdraws nominations today

Deputy Commissioner A B Ibrahim has said that an independent candidate Iruvail Chandrahas Shetty has withdrawn his nomination that he had filed  for Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency.

With this, 16 candidates are in fray. March 29 (3 pm) is the last date to withdraw nominations. 

Speaking to mediapersons here on Friday, he said that the EVMs have 16 buttons. None of the Above (NOTA) option has taken one button leaving space for 15 candidates.

If no one withdraws nominations on Saturday, then two EVMs will have to be used in every polling booth. The symbols for the independent candidates will be allotted on Saturday at 4 pm. 

Meanwhile, none of the candidates have withdrawn their nominations in Udupi-Chikmagalur constituency on Friday. 

Arms deposit

The DC has directed all holders of arms licences to deposit their weapons at the police stations concerned or authorised arms dealers in view of forthcoming general elections.

A total of 13,000 arms have already been deposited. About 97 per cent of the arms have been deposited in the City Police Commissionerate limits.  

Lowest polling

The DC said that lowest polling in the last election was registered at DK ZP Higher Primary School, at Pajeer with 27.02 per cent. Out of 781 voters, only 211 had exercised their franchise.

The second lowest polling was registered at ZP Higher Primary School at Konaje with 28 per cent polling. “A special drive will be taken up under Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) programme in these polling booths. Special drive will be carried out in 10 polling stations that had registered low polling per centage in each assembly constituency,” the DC said. 

Postal ballots

MUDA Commissioner Nazeer said the Election Commission of India has started a new provision for those on Parliamentary election duty to exercise franchise. They are expected to fill Form 12 A and submit it to the Additional DC and collect Election Duty Certificate (EDC) under Form 12B. The EDC enables a polling officer to cast his vote at the polling station assigned to him. 

Those officials who are working in the district and have registered their names in electoral list in other district will be provided Form 12 for applying for postal ballot along with their appointment letter.

They will be asked to submit the duly filled Form 12 to ARO, who in turn will send it to the Returning officers of the respective Lok Sabha constituencies and the official will get postal ballots, to exercise their franchise. A total of 15,000 officials have been deployed for polling purpose in the constituency. 

Form 17A

Those voters who do not wish to exercise their franchise after visiting the polling booth, will be asked to fill Form 17A under rule 49-L, which would be available with the office in-charge of the booths. Ther voter will have to sign the form. 

Additional DC Sadashiva Prabhu and MCC Commissioner Ajith Kumar Hegde were also present.