Seventh phase notification today

Seventh phase notification today

The notification for the seventh phase of the parliamentary polls will be issued on Wednesday, commencing filing of nominations in 89 constituencies spread across nine states and Union Territories.

The candidates, who are expected to file nominations during the week between April 2 and 9, include Bharatiya Janata Party’s prime ministerial candidate and Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, party patriarch L K Advani and senior leader Arun Jaitley.

The constituencies, which will go to polls in the seventh phase on April 30, include 17 in Telangana – the new state set to be carved out of Andhra Pradesh. Polling for all the 26 constituencies in Gujarat, 13 in Punjab, seven of 40 in Bihar, one of six in Jammu and Kashmir, 14 of 80 in Uttar Pradesh and nine of 42 in West Bengal will also take place on the same day. The constituencies of Dadra and Nagar Haveli as well as Daman and Diu will also go to polls in the seventh phase.

Modi will file his nomination to contest the polls as a BJP candidate from Vadodara constituency in Gujarat. Madhusudan Mistry of the Congress will take on him in Vadodara.
The BJP has also pitted Modi in Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.

Vadodara, along with all other constituencies in Gujarat, will go to polls in the seventh phase on April 30. Varanasi will go to polls in the ninth phase on May 12. Advani, who will contest from Gandhinagar in Gujarat, will file nomination during the week beginning on Wednesday.