Karnataka down TN

An inspiring bowling performance from Karnataka helped them end their three-game losing streak in the Syed Mushtaq Ali (South Zone) T20 tournament at the Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA cricket stadium on Saturday.

Put into bat, Karnataka’s famed batting line-up collapsed once again as they were reduced to 122 for seven at the end of the allotted 20 overs. 
Tamil Nadu would have fancied their chances given such a low target but their inability to tackle HS Sharath (2/7) and Amit Verma (4/2) proved costly as they were bowled out for a mere 87 from 15.1 overs.
Karnataka’s win did little to improve their chances of making the all-India phase of the tournament as they remained fifth in the six-team pool with eight points from five games after two wins and three losses.
Brief scores: Karnataka: 122/7 in 20 overs (Sunil Sam 2-27) bt Tamil Nadu: 87 all out in 15.1 overs (HS Sharath 2-7, Amit Verma 4-2).
Andhra: 69 all out in 18.2 overs (Basil Thampi 3-20, Padmanabhan Prasanth 3-11) lt to Kerala: 73/1 in 9.3 overs (Vishnu Vinod 31 n.o., Karimuttathu Rakesh 29).
Hyderabad: 149/7 in 20 overs (Ravi Teja 48, Hanuma Vihari 27, Amol Shinde 28; Harshad Gadekar 2-37, Gauresh Gawas 2-26, Lakshay Garg 2-24) lt to Goa: 151/8 in 20 overs (Sagun Kamat 56, Harshad Gadekar 30, Amit Yadav 38 n.o.; Amol Shinde 2-28, Pagadala Naidu  2-20, Ashish Reddy 2-22).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)