Lucky Himachal escape with draw

Lucky Himachal escape with draw

Karnataka take innings honours

Having gained a narrow four-run lead, Karnataka declared their second innings at 275 for seven in 83 overs after resuming at their overnight score of 151 for three on the fourth and final day.

Shishir Bhavani, overnight 70, missed his century by a whisker falling at 99 while Liyan Khan chipped in with 58.

Needing to score 280 for an outright win, Himachal had slumped to 149 for seven when play was called off after 44.5 overs. Jernar Singh stood tall amongst ruins for the visitors with a composed 107. Daniel Sequeria (3/58) and Zeesgab Ali Sayyed (3/23) shared the bowling spoils for Karnataka.   

Brief scores: Karnataka: 327 and 275/7 decl. in 83 overs (Shishir Bhavani 99, Liyan Khan 58; Sahib Malhotra 2-71, Abhimanyu Rana 2-59) drew Himachal Pradesh: 323 and 149/7 in 44.5 overs (Jernar Singh 107; Daniel Sequeria 3-58, Zeesgab Ali Sayyed 3-23).

Karnataka struggle

Karnataka were in a spot at 95 for three chasing Tamil Nadu’s first innings total of 353 on the second day of their semifinal match in the Col CK Nayudu Trophy (under-22) tournament in Chennai on Monday.

Riding on L Surayaprakash’s mammoth 161, Tamil Nadu piled up a total in excess of 350 and then picked up three Karnataka wickets to put themselves in a strong position. 

Brief scores: Tamil Nadu: 353 all out in 140 overs (L Suryaprakash 161, Maruti Raghav 37, Garry Dumenil 59;  Adithya B Sagar 3-97, MR Darshan 3-65, Abar Kazi 2-36) vs Karnataka: 95/3 in 27 overs (Karun Nair 38).

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox