BJP, allies' best tally in Bihar at 31

BJP, allies' best tally in Bihar at 31

Nitish's JD(u) slumps to 2-seat win; RJD combine gets 7 seats

Showing its best-ever performance in Bihar, the Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance made a clean sweep in the State winning 31 seats out of 40 Lok Sabha constituencies here.

The RJD-led combine could win only seven seats, while the ruling Janata Dal (United) scraped through in the remaining two constituencies.

While the BJP emerged victorious in 22 seats out of the 30 it contested, the Lok Janshakti Party headed by Ram Vilas Paswan was the biggest gainer as it won six out of seven seats it contested. LJP chief Paswan, his son Chirag, brother Ram Chandra Paswan and three other candidates won in the Modi wave, the other smaller outfit Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (with which the BJP entered into a pre-poll alliance), won all the three constituencies it contested.

BJP star leader Shatrughan Sinha improved his 2009 poll figures and won with a margin of over 2 lakh votes. Former Union home secretary R K Singh, contesting as BJP nominee, too romped home from Ara, while his party colleague Rajiv Pratap Rudy trounced former Bihar Chief Minister Rabri Devi at Saran.

One of the most keenly watched constituency was Pataliputra where Lalu’s daughter Misa Bharti, making her poll debut, lost to BJP’s Ram Kripal Yadav, a turncoat who deserted Lalu and joined saffron camp on poll eve.

While the RJD could win only five seats, its alliance partners – the Congress and the NCP – could bag one seat each (Kishanganj and Katihar respectively). The Congress suffered a body blow when Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar lost from Sasaram, while former Kerala Governor Nikhil Kumar could not win from Congress bastion - Aurangabad.

For the ruling party JD (u), it was a crushing defeat with its national president Sharad Yadav losing to RJD’s Pappu Yadav in Madhepura. The Nitish outfit could register its victory in Purnia and Nalanda. So miserable was JD (u) performance that at least 15 of its nominees forfeited their security deposits, a stark contrast compared to 2009 polls when JD (u) had won 20 seats.

“The people of Bihar have shown Nitish his place, while at the same time reposed their faith in Narendra Modi’s leadership,” said former deputy chief minister of Bihar and senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi.

Lalu, however, said he respected the people’s verdict. “Lekin dekhein desh ek rahega ya nahin (let us see whether the country remains one or not)”, he hastened to add.