14 new faces in Bihar cabinet

At least 14 new ministers, from the Bihar Assembly as well as the council, were on Monday administered oath by Governor D Y Patil and inducted into the state’s Jitan Ram Manjhi-led Janata Dal (United) government.

Science and Technology Minister Gautam Singh was asked to quit after it was revealed in a party review meet that he had worked against a JD (U) nominee during polls.

Among those inducted into the Manjhi Cabinet were Lallan Singh, with whom the former chief minister had a volatile friend-foe relationship, and a turncoat Samrat Choudhary, who deserted the RJD along with Javed Ansari and Ram Lakhan Ram Raman. Ansari and Raman, too, were made ministers.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)