Modi, MPs to take oath as LS members

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be administered the oath and affirmation as member of the Lower House when the first sitting of the 16th Lok Sabha begins on Wednesday.

In the brief session of Parliament beginning Wednesday, each of the 540 members of the Lok Sabha will be administered oath and affirmation by Protem Speaker Kamal Nath, the seniormost member of the Lower House with 31 years of experience in Parliament.

As per convention, the Prime Minister is administered the oath first. In the 543-member Lower House, three seats – Vadodara, Mainpuri and Medak – are vacant. While Modi resigned from Vadodara and retained Varanasi, SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav has retained Azamgarh and quit from Mainpuri. TRS chief K Chandrasekhara Rao has quit his Medak Parliamentary seat.

Nath, a nine-term MP from Chhindwara, has been appointed Protem Speaker last week. He would be administered the oath by President Pranab Mukherjee on Wednesday morning.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)