ADE emerge champions

ADE emerge champions

ADE emerge champions

Thirty-two years after first being affiliated to the Bangalore District Football Association, Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE) climbed the summit for the first time by winning the BDFA Super Division title here at the Bangalore Football Stadium on Monday.

After playing in the BDFA ‘C’ Division for the first time in 1982, it’s been a long road but they have moved up the leagues and finally stand on top of the pile.

Speaking about the achievement, R Arokiaraj, the team’s manager, said the team’s make up was one of the main reasons for their success.

“We have a very young team and their understanding with the senior players was one of the reasons why we have won the title. It is because of our strong will that we won the title.”

CIL, who needed to win by at least two goals to stay in the race, missed three very presentable chances – including a penalty.

CIL’s No. 10, Nirmal, was guilty of missing most of the chances including the spotkick.

ADE, who needed only a point to seal the title, drew the game 1-1.

They took the lead through Raju in the 49th minute before Pradeep equalised in the 68th minute.

ADE’s captain, Elangovan, who has been with the side since 2000, pointed out the team’s guest coach, Manivannan, as a key figure.

A sentiment that ACR Pillay, a member of the top management of the club, shared.

ADE, who lost their previous game 4-1 against ASC, could have been excused for going for a draw but Elangovan said they were set up to attack from the off.

“In the pre-match talk, we talked of attacking and getting the three points even though we knew a point would do.

“In the last match we developed a few nerves and hence we lost. We wanted to avoid that.”

ADE, who first played in the Super Division in 2000, wound up the league with 17 points from eight games.

Their next match, which is tentatively scheduled for June 18, will be the traditional exhibition match against the winners of the BDFA ‘A’ Division.

Result: ‘A’ Division: Tilak Memorial: 1 (Milton 61st) drew with AGORC: 1 (Santhosh).