NDMA VC, 5 members resign

Last Updated 19 June 2014, 13:09 IST

After some Governors, it was the turn of Vice-Chairman of the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) M Shashidhar Reddy and five of its members to resign after the new government asked them to quit their posts.

There were reports that the government has also asked the Chairpersons and members of various Commissions like National Commission for Women, SCs and STs and the head of Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) to resign but there was no confirmation.

Apart from Reddy, the members who have resigned are former Director General of CISF K M Singh, former Civil Aviation Secretary K N Shrivastava, Maj Gen (Retd) J K Bansal, former Director of Bhabha Automic Research Centre B Bhattacharjee and former Special Director of CBI K Salim Ali.

"I have sent my resignation on Tuesday to pave the way for the Prime Minister to reconstitute the NDMA. Probably the Prime Minister has a view on it. I am hopeful that the reconstitution process will be completed soon," Reddy told PTI here.

The resignations came after calls were made by Union Home Secretary Anil Goswami to step down in the wake of change of government. They were all appointed by previous UPA government.

The NDMA is headed by the Prime Minister. The Vice Chairman enjoys the rank of a Cabinet Minister while eight other members enjoy the rank of a Union Minister of State.

The three members who have not resigned so far include former Director General of CRPF J K Sinha, medical expert Muzaffar Ahmed and former Secretary Department of Ocean Development Harsh K GuptaSinha said he was away from Delhi and would do the needful once he returns to the capital.

Reddy was first appointed as member of NDMA in 2005 and promoted as Vice-Chairman in December 2010.

A few members were appointed in 2005 and got reappointment after completion of their five year tenure. Others were appointed in the last two to three years.

The members met yesterday and today to discuss the issue of resignation and then put in their papers.

(Published 19 June 2014, 12:30 IST)

Follow us on