28 MLAs have not raised a single question: Study

28 MLAs have not raised a single question: Study

A study, by a private agency, has revealed that 28 members in the present Legislative Assembly have not asked even a single question during the last one year.

The study, conducted by Bangalore-based Rezorce Research Foundation has named former Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy, former ministers D Sudhakar, C P Yogeeshwara, R Varthur Prakash, B B Nagaiah among members who did not ask question in the three sessions held since the constitution of the 14th assembly last year.

A copy of the report was handed over to Speaker Kagodu Thimmappa on Thursday.
The study also states that 43 members have not participated in any debate or discussion.
The report points out that K Gopalaiah of JD(S) has asked the more than 100 un-starred questions in the assembly but has not participated in debates.

Only written replies are given to unstarred questions. As many as 17 members have 100 per cent attendance.

They have attended all days of the session in both Bangalore and Belgaum.  They are V S Kashappanavar, B N Vijaykumar, B A Basavaraj, P M Ashok, B M Nagaraj, T R Raghumurthy, J R Lobo, H K Kumaraswamy, K B Koliwad, K G Bopaiah,  Tanveer Sait, K B Prasanna Kumar, K Shadakhari, Rafeeq Ahmed, Shivaram Hebbar, Pramod Madhwaraj and Vinisha Nero.

The report states that highest number of un-starred questions was asked by Bhimanna Khandre (162), followed by N A Haris (160) and Gurupadappa Nagamarappali (156).

Among ministers, Law Minister T B Jayachandra participated in the maximum number of debates (217) followed by Chief Minister Siddaramaiah (138) and Revenue Minister V Srinivasa Prasad (76). Thimmappa said parties should give tickets only to enterprising and pro-active politicians.