President's XI on top against Bengal

President's XI on top against Bengal

Verma, Bharath stabilise KSCA XI

President's XI on top against Bengal

 A combination of spin and pace helped KSCA President’s XI take control of their match against Cricket Association of Bengal in the KSCA all-India invitational Dr K Thimmappaiah memorial tournament here at the Alur grounds on Friday.

Medium pacers SL Akshay (3/39) and S Arvind (3/32) shared six wickets between them while left-arm spinner Abrar Kazi also claimed three (3/45) as President’s XI skittled Bengal for a modest 198 in 79 overs on the opening day of the four-day match.

In reply, the hosts had reached 23 without loss in nine overs at close.

At the Chinnaswamy stadium, a half-century by Amit Verma (77) and an innings of 49 by KN Bharath saved KSCA XI the blushes against Haryana Cricket Association.Batting first after the match began 90 minutes behind schedule, the home team finished the day on a not-so-comfortable 188 for five in 54 overs.

At Adithya Global, Goa CA were bowled out for a paltry 199 in 64.4 overs by Himachal Pradesh CA.
Kunwar Abhinay (5/40) and Gurvinder Singh (3/70) were the bowlers responsible as the Goan batsmen failed to offer any resistance.

In reply, Himachal were 73/1 in 17 overs, with Ankush Dhailwal unbeaten on 41.

Brief scores: At Alur: Cricket Association of Bengal: 198 all out in 79 overs (Kazi Junaid 35, Banerjee 54, A Majumdar 29; SL Akshay 3-39, Abrar Kazi 3-45, Arvind S 3-32) vs KSCA President’s XI: 23/0 in 9 overs.

At Chinnaswamy: KSCA XI: 188/5 in 54 overs (Amit Verma 77, KN Bharath 49; Kuldeep Hooda 2-13) vs Haryana Cricket Association.

At RSI: KSCA Colts XI: 112/2 in 32 overs (Abhishek Reddy 66, Shishir Bhavane 31; Lukman Meriwala 2-20) vs Baroda CA.

At RWF: DY Patil Academy: 467/7 in 89 overs (Bravish Shetty 219, Shubam Ranjane 56, Siddarath Chitnis 53; AG Praveen 2-65, Kamruddin 2-84, SH Srinivas 2-93).

At Adithya Global: Goa Cricket Association: 199 all out in 64.4 overs (Snehal Kauthankar 32, Sagun Kamat 25, Darshan Misal 29; Kunwar Abhinay 5-40, Gurvinder Sing 3-70) vs Himachal Pradesh CA: 73/1 in 17 overs (Ankush Dhailwal 41 n.o.).

At BGS: Odisha Cricket Association: 200/4 in 81 overs (Aravind Singh 92 n.o., B Samantray 88; Rana Dutta 2-29) vs Tripura Cricket Association.

In Mysore (Gangotri Glades): Mumbai Cricket Association: 213/4 in 53 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 45, Suruakumar Yadav 103 n.o., Abhishek Nayar 45 n.o., Aditya Tare 38; Deepak Chahar 2-53) vs National Cricket Academy.

At SJCE: Kerala Cricket Association: 106 all out in 61 overs (Anthaf 34 n.o.; Krishna Das 6-16, Pallav Das 2-8) vs Assam Cricket Association.